

## OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

12th December 2018

## PRESS RELEASE

## PARLIAMENT APPROVES EIGHTEEN PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEES

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Wednesday 12th December 2018 debated and unanimously approved the Twenty-Second Report of its Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis.

Speaking to the nominees after approval, Speaker of Parliament, the Rt. Hon. Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu had called on the nominees to do their best to succeed in their various appointments in light of the confidence reposed in them by the President and Parliament, whilst acknowledging the invaluable role that had been played by Mr. Eke Ahmed Halloway, former Attorney-General and Minister Justice in the judicial landscape of the country.

The following presidential nominees were approved by Parliament:

- I. Mr. James Vincent-Chairman, National Youth Commission
- II. Ms. Alberta J. Nancy Demby-Member, National Commission for Social Action
- III. Mr. Edward King-Member, Independent Media Commission
- IV. Mr. Abu Bakarr Kargbo-Commissioner, Right to Access Information Commission
- V. Ms. Mary Jeneba Coker-Member, Board of Trustees, Sierra Leone Broadcasting Corporation
- VI. John Gbonda Margai-Member, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Ports Authority
- VII. Ms. Williet James-Member, Board of Trustees, Sierra Leone Broadcasting Corporation
- VIII. Dr. Janette E.P Saidu-Member, Tertiary Education Commission
- IX. Mr. Joseph Abdul Yamba Mansaray-Chairman, Sierra Leone State Lottery Company Ltd.
- X. Dr. Victor Massaquoi-Member, Tertiary Education Commission

XI. Ambassador Sahr Johnny-Chairman, Minerals Advisory Board

XII. Mr. Sillaty Daboh-Board Member, Sierra Leone Ports Authority

XIII. Ms. Rosaline Katumu Amara-Member, Board of Trustees, SLBC

XIV. Alhaji Abu Bakarr Fofana-Member, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Road Safety Authority (SLRSA) Board

XV. Dr. Joseph Maada Korsu Kandeh-Chairman, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Housing Corporation (SALHOC) Board

XVI. Mrs. Mary Wuyatta Karimu-Commissioner, Right to Access Information Commission

XVII. Mr. Sabieu Conte-Member, Board of Directors, Rokel Commercial Bank Limited and

XVIII. Mr. Eke Ahmed Halloway-Chairman, Anti-Corruption Advisory Board

MPs who spoke to the motion acclaimed President Bio for using his wisdom to nominate highly qualified Sierra Leoneans to serve in high offices of State, with a view to actualizing the promises he had made in the manifesto of the New Direction. However, the MPs also cautioned the nominees that failure is not an option and that they should do all they could for the success of the policies and programmes that are encapsulated in the New Direction for the continued progress and development of the country.

**Department of Public Relations** 

Parliament of Sierra Leone

+23278495023/+23278426851